Power GTD Links 12-17-07

  • Marci shares her time management secrets…"For the first time in the three months I’ve been writing this blog, I not only caught up with work but could see past the next day’s deadline. The reason was that I was trying to take a mini-vacation. But by the time my travel day arrived, I was too sick to get on the plane. Stuck at home with no meetings, I was able to figure out some of the reasons why I was finally caught up." (via ny times blog)
  • Free iPhone ringtones anyone? Apple has introduced a simple and free way to create and sync your own custom ringtones to the iPhone using GarageBand (i.e., Mac only). The first thing you’ll need to do, if you haven’t already, is download and install the latest update of GarageBand from Software Update (at the time of this writing, that’s version 4.1.1). Once you’ve installed and restarted your computer, turning any song on your computer to a ringtone is a breeze. (via lifehacker)
  • It seems that T-Mobile has decided to block access to Twitter, I wonder why…"T-Mobile has, for yet some unknown reason, decided to blog access to Twitter. My guess? All those people with unlimited text using the crap out of their bandwidth. Biz from Twitter confirms via this comment…Hey folks. T-Mobile has definitely turned us off without notification. At Twitter we make great effort to be in compliance with all the carrier “playbooks.” We’re still trying to find out why T-Mobile has taken this action—as soon as we find out, we’ll let you know." (via twitter hacks)
  • Getting things done with a Palm device…really? At home I use a modified version of GTD, based primarily on my PDA using applications like Agendus for Palm, Notestudio, and Bonsia. In each system, I have a projects list, a reference "library", a next action list, and a someday/maybe list. Contexts, or areas where I do work, differ greatly. For example, at home I have one "computer" context, but at work this is split into "Studio", "SQL", "JobHost" and "Internet". (via life with palm)
  • GTD Power Crackberry setup…Well its finally here a calendar synchronization that works natively with the RIM calendar and Google Calendar, awesome, this dynamic duo provides a very tight integration, now add Jott with Google Link, and now you can make a phone call from your cell or anywhere, Jott will ask you, “Who do you want to Jott” and you say “Google Calendar” and speak your calendar event eg. Miami Heat on Saturday at 8pm and then check your google calendar in about 3 to 4 minutes and your event is there, it works flawlessly for all those time that you don’t want to write or you simply can’t for whatever reason. Now if Google would come up with a Task manager ala Google Calendar wow, its probably a matter of time before we such an application. (via blackberry gtd)
  • Sync iCal to paper…So… I enter all my items into iCal. I like to organize my Next Actions by client so it was natural to just assign the Task (iCal’s term) into the appropriate client’s calendar. Then I created new calendars for @Someday, @Projects, @Waiting for, etc. No appointments here, just items. (via mccmon)

Tags: , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

