How Do You Get Things Done?

4 thoughts on “How Do You Get Things Done?”

  1. Wow, interesting that you received no reply on Twitter – there are many GTD advocates Tweeting away their time out there and would think they would jump at the question.

    Personally I’m a “struggling GTDer” working towards that “stress free living” part. I do believe that the concepts are solid and needed and having used Covery 7 Habits in the past see GTD an implementation process to being proactive and putting first things first. I can also attest that just capturing, planning, doing “some” and reviewing is a stress reducer as compared to not knowing/remembering it all.

    We use an internally developed web based incident system at work that provides for projects, contexts, and next actions along with a slew of other fields needed for IT support and we continue to tweak that app as we see benefits. My personal approach is identifying the most important projects or task during my weekly review for the upcoming week and tagging those. I then review that list daily and pull off the ones for the day usually based on context. Context is not as important in a desk job to me but it helps to work through next actions in that sequence. Of course that only works for planned work and the work as in comes in often has to be bumped above the rest.

    On the personal side I am looking at different online solutions for my system having abandoned my personal web app since there are much brighter minds out there doing the same thing. I’ve tried one app and am currently reviewing another that should show up in my blog in the next few days. Goal setting, documenting and tracking seems to be my personal week area. I think of them but without fully documenting them and keeping them in front of you, one can lose the momentum of achieving them.

    Anyhow, my 1 cent worth – hey, we’re in a recessions right?
    -Stephen

  2. I too am surprised you didn’t get a bigger response on Twitter. I’ve just started using it and found it a useful diversion, and a nice networking tool to some degree.

    In terms of how I do GTD, I use Remember The Milk almost exclusively, except for a notebook which I use for meetings and other activities away from my desk. I have a tab for each project on my plate, then two general lists for daily one-offs (one for personal and one for work). I love the slick web interface, but I do wish they’d come out with something nice for the blackberry, like they have for the iPhone. I even managed to convert my wife to using RTM; now if only I can get her to buy into the whole “process – plan – do – review” but.

    I do weekly reviews on Sunday nights to make sure all my ducks are in order for the coming week, and that my brain is as empty as possible. In addition, I try my best to review my lists at several checkpoints during the day, so that I can ensure that nothing is slipping through the cracks. In my work the sheer volume of things that hit my inbox is tremendous; without this constant reminder of what’s out there I’d drown very quickly

    On an un-related note, thanks for the comment on my blog! It looks like you are doing well for yourself over here. I’m still a newbie at this, but so far it’s a nice way to exercise the other half of my brain after a long day of work.

Leave a Reply

